Back to All Events

Springfield Symphony Orchestra: From the New World

  • Juanita K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts (map)

While living in New York, Czech composer Antonín Dvořák became interested in Native American music and African-American spirituals. His Symphony No. 9 - From the New World, is a thrilling and poignant thesis of American folk and indigenous melodies woven into the traditional Western symphonic structure and is one of the most popular masterworks in the orchestral repertoire. We will introduce our audience to Joan Tower's Grammy-Award winning composition Made in America, which weaves America the Beautiful into an intriguing and haunting tone poem. And in a nod to the "old world," we will hear Beethoven's delightful and charming Violin Concerto, performed by our very own Concertmaster David Hays.

Joan Tower - Made in America
Beethoven - Violin Concerto
With David Hays, Violin
Dvořák - Symphony No. 9 - From the New World

Later Event: November 1
Tulsa Ballet: Giselle